Globe-Philippine Air Force Team wins Philippine National Games Volleyball Championship

Globe-Philippine Air Force Team wins Philippine National Games Volleyball Championship

The Globe Telecom-Philippine Air Force won the 2011 Philippine National Games Men’s Volleyball championship on the penultimate day of the games held in preparation for the country’s participation in this year’s Southeast Asian Games to be held in Jakarta, Indonesia in November.


            The seventh-time national champion defeated National Capital Region, a powerhouse team composed mostly of national and collegiate players from UAAP and NCAA, 25-22, 36-34, 25-20.


            The Globe-Philippine Air Force team was led by team captain Rhovyl Verayo; RP standouts Dante Alinsunurin, Jessie Lopez, Jeff Malabanan, Reny Balse and Raffy Mosuela. Also on the team were Clarence Esteban, Mimi Tacurong, Harby Ilano, Ray Karl Dimaculangan, Jimson Merza and Crisrey Estrada.


Three Globe-PAF players were also chosen in the Mythical Six with Verayo picked as MVP, Lopez as Best Setter, Tacurong as Best Server. PAF Jasper Jimenez and Ariel de la Cruz were also named Best Coach, Men’s and Women’s teams, respectively.


            Lt. Gen. Oscar H. Rabena, AFP Commanding General of Philippine Air Force and Col. Ferdinand Cartujano, Team Manager headed the contingent in the week-long competition designed to showcase the present and future of Philippine sports.

POC, PSC, provincial and local officials formally declared the Games open with PSC chairman Richie Garcia, POC secretary general Steve Hontiveros, Bacolod City Mayor Bing Leonardia, and Silay City Mayor Oti Montelibano doing the formal opening, also marking Olympic Day and 100 Years of Philippine Sports.


“Globe is proud to support the Philippine Air Force Team and be an integral partner in supporting their professional volleyball efforts. We look forward to an exciting SEA games,” said Peter Bithos, Globe Telecom Senior Advisor for Consumer Business.

Close to 4,000 athletes in 34 disciplines gathered in Bacolod City to display their wares organized by their respective national sports associations for the coming Indonesia SEA Games.


PRworksPH team

PRWorksPH Content Team is now composed of Emmanuel Mongaya, Alya Simone Mongaya, Patricia Quiachon, and Raphaella Bautista.

Leave a Reply