Haiyan, cybersex reports win 2014 awards

Haiyan, cybersex reports win 2014 awards

Globe Media Excellence Awards 2014

An investigative report on Haiyan, locally called Yolanda that devastated a wide swath of central Philippines, has bagged one of the top awards of the 3rd Davao Media Excellence Awards at the SMX Convention Center in Davao City last November 27, 2014.

Earlier, reports on cybersex in Cordova town in Cebu province gained the nod of judges in the 3rd Cebu Media Excellence Awards at the Marriot Hotel in Cebu City on September 24, 2014.

The Philippine top telecommunications company, Globe Telecom initiated the excellence awards in Cebu and Davao for those who have shown exemplary communication skills in bringing social issues to the attention of the public via print, broadcast, or digital media.

Media winners
Cebu Media Excellence Awards winners Ador Mayol and editor Eileen Mangubat (Cebu Daily News), Rebelander Basilan, Davinci Maru and Cherry Ann Lim (Sunstar), Atty. Ruphil Bañoc (Superbalita), Arni Aclao (Sunstar), Patricia Andrea Pateña (TV5), Astra Zina Logarta (DYHP), and Ruben Licera (INewMedia.org) pose with Globe Telecom officials: Ms. Yoly Crisanto, Roki Ferrer, Jocel de Guzman and Atty. Mac Gordon.
Davao awards
Globe Telecom’s Yoly Crisanto (center) with 2014 Globe Davao Media Excellence Awardees, Rommel Aquino of DXRD Balita FM, Seth delos Reyes of Sunstar, Olan Emboscado, Jefry Tupas of Newsdesk Asia, Stella Estremera of Sunstar, Danreeve Josseffe Revilla of ABS-CBN, and John Paul Seniel of GMA 7.

(Past winners of the Globe Telecom’s Media Excellence Awards in Cebu and Davao)

On top of being a platform to acknowledge the works of Davao journalists, DMEA also pays tribute to the 34 media personalities who were victims of the Maguindanao Massacre in 2009 as the city celebrates its Media Freedom Day every November 23rd to honor the memory of the fallen journalists.

Meanwhile, the Cebu Media Excellence Awards was the highlight of the week-long celebration of Cebu Press Freedom Week last September, 2014.


Winning the Reporter of the Year for Print award was Stella Estremera of Sunstar Davao who wrote “Haiyan, six months hence” while Explanatory/investigative Story of the Year for Print/Online went to Jefry Tupas of Newsdesk Asia for “The War of Ana Luisa Calyx”. Each winner received P20,000 and a trophy while the editors got P5,000 and a plaque.

Columnist of the Year Henrylito Tacio of Sunstar took home P15,000 and a trophy for his entry “Take heed of these warnings” while Photojournalist of the Year Seth delos Reyes also of Sunstar received P10,000 and a trophy for his entry “Basura Mo – Child’s Play.”

Danreeve Josseffe Revilla of ABS-CBN was awarded the Best Reporter of the Year for TV for “Ramon Magsaysay Awardee Randy Halasan, Ehemplo sa mga Magtutudlo” while GMA’s John Paul Seniel bagged Explanatory/Investigative Story of the Year for Broadcast for “Tubig Tinubdan” and for radio, top recognition was given to Balita FM’s Rommel Aquino’s “Rice Shortage.”

The Awards for Blogger of the Year and Social Media Advocate both went to Olan Emboscado who also received the same recognitions last year.

The judges are Ricardo P. Enriquez, Chair Quality Assurance / Chair SHS Preparations, Office of the Academic Vice President, Ateneo de Davao University; Andre D. Tani, Executive Director, Virus, Inc.;  Allan Domingo, Reporter, GMA7 Cebu; Rebelander Basilan, Reporter, Sunstar Cebu; Dr. Sylvia B. Concepcion, Chancellor, University of the Philippines Mindanao;  Angel S. Antonio, President / CEO ASPAC Advertising, Inc.; and Patricia Andrea Patena, Reporter, TV5 Cebu.


Loboc choir
The world famous Loboc childrens choir of Loboc, Bohol performs before Cebu journalists and bloggers.

In Cebu City, Senior reporter Ador Vincent Mayol of Cebu Daily News won the Reporter of the Year for Print for his 4-part series “Children Need Time to Heal” published in October 2013. The report described how minors who were rescued from a cybersex business in  Cordova town were picking up their lives four years after the raid of their house and arrest of their parents.

Meanwhile, Rebelander Basilan, Davinci Maru, Gerome Dalipe and Cherry Ann Lim of Sun Star Cebu won the Explanatory/Investigative Story of the Year for the Print/Online category for their series “Cordova: Cybersex Capital?”.

SuperBalita’s Ruphil Bañoc was awarded Columnist of the Year for his piece “Silot sa Pagpanapaw” while Sun. Star Cebu’s Arni Aclao was recognized as  Photojournalist of the Year for his aerial shot of a devastated Madridejos town after typhoon Yolanda.

In the broadcast category, two awards were won by TV 5 ‘s Patricia Andrea Pateña as this year’s Reporter of the Year for Television and Explanatory/Investigative Reporter of the Year for her work “Kuwang sa Pangga.”

The Reporter of the Year for Radio award was bagged by Astra Zina Logarta of dyHP for her reportage of the Alternative Learning System launched in the Cebu provincial jail for inmates.

For the social media category, the Blogger of the Year award and Social Media Advocate of Year was bagged by Ruben Licera of InewMedia.org.

Yoly with Cebu bloggers
Yoly Crisanto and Jocel de Guzman of Globe Telecom pose with Cebu bloggers.

Yoli Crisanto, Globe Telecom’s senior vice president for marketing and communications,  said the annual awards  pay tribute to  media practitioners who have excelled in their fields.

This year’s judges were Cebu Chamber of Commerce president Ma. Teresa Chan, Angel Antonio of Aspac Advertising, Regional Director Ahmed Cuizon of LTFRB, Andre Tani of Virus Digital Media, Teresa Fernandez of Lihok Filipina Foundation and Angel Guerrero of Adobo Magazine.

“We’re now looking forward to more and better entries for the Globe Telecom Media Excellence Awards 2015,” said Doris Mongaya of PRworks Inc. The agency helped prepare the groundwork and in actual event management of the awards in Cebu and Davao. It is Globe Telecom’s public relations partner in the Visayas and Mindanao.


PRworksPH team

PRWorksPH Content Team is now composed of Emmanuel Mongaya, Alya Simone Mongaya, Patricia Quiachon, and Raphaella Bautista.

Leave a Reply