76 entries join Cebu #GlobeMediaAwards

76 entries join Cebu #GlobeMediaAwards

A total of 76 entries had been submitted and vying for prestigious titles at the 3rd Globe Telecom Cebu Media Excellence Awards as the finals night on September 25, 2014 approaches.

The awards has become one of the awaited highlights of the celebration of Press Freedom Week every third week of September for several years now to honor and continue to defend the Freedom of the Press. The annual celebration also falls on the commemoration of the dark years under martial law when the freedom of the press was trampled upon.


While most of the entries are now at the hands of a screening committee manned by trusted members of the academe, the entries for the print/online and television categories for the Explanatory/Investigative Story of the Year are now being screened by the Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism (PCIJ).

Through the Cebu Media Excellence Awards which will be held this September 25, 2014, Globe continuously supports the move to defend, sustain, and broaden this basic democratic right through print, broadcast or social media. Globe encourages media excellence in civic, investigative and explanatory journalism that would delve into such social concerns as freedom from ignorance, freedom from poverty and freedom from corruption.

Award Categories

The Globe-led media awards is open to all Cebu-based journalists and they may submit entries for the following categories—Reporter of the Year for Print, Columnist of the Year, Photojournalist of the Year, Explanatory / Investigative Story of the Year for Print/Online, Reporter of the Year for Radio, Reporter of the Year for Television, Explanatory/Investigative Story of the Year for Television, Blogger of the Year and Social Media Advocate of the Year.

Advocacy and Area of Focus

Like in the previous CMEAs, submitted entries should be able to promote any or a combination of the following advocacies: business and entrepreneurship, information and communications technology, environment and disaster response, governance and social progress and youth and education. There are no separate categories or distinction for journalists writing for Cebuano-language dailies. Same standards of excellence shall be applied for all contenders for an award whether their works are written in English or Cebuano.

Criteria for Judging

The judges’ decisions for print and broadcast categories shall be based on the following criteria: 50% content, 25% style and 25% social impact.  Winning entries will be awarded with a cash prize and a trophy for the reporter and the editor will receive cash and a plaque.

For bloggers, the criteria for judging are: 50% Consistency of content on the advocacy. 20% reader-friendly presentation and design of content and 30% social impact. For social media advocates, criteria are: 50% content and consistency to its advocacy, 20% reader engagement which means number of comments/replies to its post and 30% social impact which includes number of retweets, shares, favorited and/or likes. Winning entries will be awarded with a cash prize and a trophy.

A search period for the entries was given from August 2013 onward until the deadline for submission of entries last July 18, 2014. All entries will go through the Screening Committee and panel of judges to come up with the list of nominees which will be announced on September 18, 2014.

Related articles

And the WINNERS are … 

Cebu Media Excellence Awards

Davao Media Excellence Awards

PRworksPH team

PRWorksPH Content Team is now composed of Emmanuel Mongaya, Alya Simone Mongaya, Patricia Quiachon, and Raphaella Bautista.

Leave a Reply